2006 Grad Fellows

We are excited to announce the 2006 NVIDIA Graduate Fellowship recipients!

We know that there is incredibly important work taking place at universities worldwide, and the NVIDIA Graduate Fellowship Program allows us to demonstrate our commitment to academia and to support research that spans all areas of multimedia innovation. All of the research projects were very exciting to us and selecting the fellowship recipients was an extremely difficult decision. David Kirk, our Chief Scientist, and the rest of our review committee selected 12 winners, each of whom received $25,000 to further their research.

Congratulations to the 2006 NVIDIA Graduate Fellows:

  • Brandon Lloyd, University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill
  • Greg Johnson, University of Texas, Austin
  • Guillem Pratx, Stanford University
  • Huamin Wang, Georgia Institute of Technology
  • Jaakko Lehtinen, Helsinki University of Technology
  • Jay Edward Steele, Clemson University
  • Jonathan Ragan-Kelley, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
  • Krzysztof Niski, Johns Hopkins University
  • Mathias Schott, University of Utah
  • Philipp Michel, Carnegie Mellon University
  • Pravin Bhat, University of Washington
  • Tomas Akenine-Moller, Lund University

This is the fifth year that NVIDIA has invited PhD students to submit their research projects for consideration, and again we received a record number of applications. Recipients are selected based on their academic achievements, professor nomination, and area of research. We have found this program to be a great way to support academia in it’s pursuit of cutting edge innovation, as well as an ideal avenue to introduce NVIDIA to the future leaders of our industry.

Congratulations to our new NVIDIA Graduate Fellows!